221 PROSPECT PARK W, BROOKLYN, NY, 11215-5803 
718-832-1795

Ratings 7 people have voted

29AVG:(4.1)
27AVG:(3.9)
24AVG:(3.4)
17AVG:(2.4)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(14)   

Reviewed by: 26ekwashie on: 2016-12-30
stop saying it's bad are u evil good foo=best food ever
Reviewed by: bbudd603 on: 2016-10-14
Food sucks
Reviewed by: Caroline B. on: 12/30/2013 6:37:28 AM
#1 Garden is a very good Chinese take-out place with speedy delivery and satisfying food. The dumplings are its forte, though I recommend the lo mein and chicken with Chinese vegetables too.
Reviewed by: Stella G. on: 12/8/2013 2:46:13 AM
Disgusting. I couldn't even take a second bite of this garbage they call food. This isn't at all how chicken and broccoli should taste. Regret spending any money here, but I'm glad my boyfriend at least finished my meal for me and that the rice was fine enough for me to eat.
Reviewed by: Jane R. on: 8/18/2013 2:11:22 AM
After spending all the day at the beach, we ended up ordering from this place since it was right near by for dinner. We got fried chicken, fried dumplings, and chicken chow fun. I really just wanted regular lo mein but my boyfriend really wanted chicken chow fun since it was also noodles. When we got it, it was actually a soupy broth with chicken and a side of rice. He went back and apparently thats not what chicken chow fun is (noodles). We ended up getting chicken lo mein instead. There was so much of everything and it was all amazing and delicious. The dumplings were as good as yelp told us it would be. Great, cheap Chinese food!
Reviewed by: Nicholas C. on: 7/15/2013 5:32:41 AM
this place is ok nothing to brag about one thing i dont like is how rude the workers are like there to busy to take your money as soon as a delivery order comes through but the food is ok.
Reviewed by: Heather S. on: 1/12/2013 7:14:00 AM
Not the best Chinese in the area. The sesame chicken was weirdly spicy. The service was fast. Would go back in a pinch, but not my favorite.
Reviewed by: Bentley C. on: 7/19/2012 10:55:00 AM
In this age of instant online reviews where everyone's a "foodie" and overly obsessed with everything they've ever put in their mouth, I think it's time we got a hold of ourselves.This place is a decent Chinese takeout restaurant with reliable, not bad food at super cheap prices. It's not trying to be anything else, nor should anyone expect anything more. Its a run down looking hole in the wall that's looked the same for the past 15 years, with paper menus and a couple of shitty formica tables. Come on. Number one garden doesn't advertise that it has the "best" whatever. No one from New York Magazine ever came here and ate a wonton that resulted In a transcendent plum sauce-flavored vision of peace on earth. Their best advertising is the line of local neighborhood lifetime residents, off duty cops and Holy Name churchgoers ordering fried half chickens and beef and broccoli combos.With all due respect, dear yelpers, this is not the place to order a delivery to your exact specifications as if you were stir frying it yourself. Save that preciousness for a time when you're spending more than six dollars on your dinner. These people crank out like an order every five minutes, and work HARD. I don't think it's fair to knock them if they don't use your favorite kind of chili sauce. I always see the same five staff there working and they never seem to take a break....they're clearly going for volume, not rave reviews of their artisanal egg rolls. If you're really concerned about how you want your dish prepared, opt for takeout, go to the counter and ask the chefs yourself. There's a big open kitchen where you can actually see how all the dishes are made (which is great, as you can see everything is clean). I've made special requests and they will gladly make your dish to order as long as you're not a complete dick about it. A few phrases in Chinese like "hello" and "thank you" go a long way too. Number one garden is the average hard working kid in school who realizes not everyone gets to go to Harvard, and you know what, that's just fine. Leave my kid alone, snobby Park Slope parents!Best bets are general tso chicken, black bean sauce dishes and the dumplings. Try the homemade ice tea, good stuff.
Reviewed by: Jennifer H. on: 5/24/2012 1:00:00 AM
This place rocks. Great, fast, friendly service. Big bang for your buck and the menu has about 500 things on it, so there's no getting bored. Love the veggie lo mein and the bok choy. The general tso's (dark meat is much better!) is a no-brainer with the sweet broccoli. Kung Pao is proper Chinese-American at its finest. It'd give it 6 stars if i could. Fast delivery even at 8pm on a wknd. No msg, brown rice is no extra charge and they automatically toss in a free can of coke if you spend more than $15 and two cans if you spend more than $25, I think. LOVE THIS PLACE! I can get down on their corn starch slurries a good 2-3 times per week, but my gut hates me for it.
Reviewed by: Mike B. on: 4/20/2012 9:39:00 PM
solid Chinese takeout joint that I like to order from when visiting my family in Brooklyn.the menu is standard Americanized Chinese, but the actual food is much less salty/oily/greasy than your average Chinese takeout place. for that, I'm bumping them up to 4.their Kung Pao chicken is awesome here. probably one of the best Kung Pao chicken dishes I've had, actually.a little costlier than Mr. Tong's (on Fort Hamilton), but the better quality is worth paying for! also, recently I've noticed Mr. Tong's adding more vegetables and skimping on the meat in the meat dishes, but #1 Garden has a perfect balance.
Reviewed by: buskerdog on: 2002-05-28
Can't compete with Red Hot on 7th ave for fresh ingredients. Still, for fast, cheap, solid junk Chinese food it's fine. If you go in, make sure to listen to the unbelievably loud microphone that the folks at the counter use to dictate ...?
Reviewed by: flexichick on: 2004-10-01
I disagree with the poster below. Ate at Red Hot once - noodles were stale, service was ridiculously slow and forgetful. No excuse during lunch with only about 3 tables in the place..... However, Number One Garden delivers within minutes ...?
Reviewed by: A TripAdvisor Member on: 2006-09-09
I ate Number One Garden three days a week for two years straight. This is a low-ball estimate. I know that some weeks, for instance, I ATE IT EVERY DAY. IT IS DELICIOUS. It is the best chinese food, nay, one of the finest restaurants on the ...?
Reviewed by: clarekildare on: 2008-06-16
Aside from the delightful surprise that the had veggie dumplings, this was a truly horrible chinese restaurant. The food was limp and the chicken was very dark and uni-flavored. Even the cold sesame noodles were bland. PLUS it was slow ...?